NO PLANES/BLUES CONTROL/WOODS/EVOLVE/ORGANS at the Art Damage Lodge, 3/9/08

Okay so I haven’t posted here in a while. That much is true. Sorry about that. However, just in case you didn’t realize it, I’ve been blogging a lot over here at State of the Commonwealth. While we cover music occasionally over there (mainly by covering who is coming to town), that l’il blog is really more of a general-interest thing (if you’re generally interested in a backwoods state’s politics, mostly). I’m not giving up on Other Side, though. Quite the contrary, I hope to do more bloggin’ and whatnot sometime soon. And hopefully sometime in the next few months I’ll have some digitizin’ capacity, and I’d like to put up lots of rare vinyl and tapes. So we’ll see. In the meantime, let me tell you about the show I went to in Cincinnati this past Sunday.

So for the past six months I’ve been living in the magical city known as Louisville, Kentucky. Especially when it comes to music, Louisville ain’t too shabby. At least it wasn’t, back in the day. There are definitely some good bands from here now, and there is a much better and greater draw for out-of-town bands now than there was when I grew up here. That said, there’s a lot of bands and music and whatnot that, especially if it’s on the smaller and noisier side of things, don’t make it here. For whatever reason, however, Cincy and Lexington get a lot of this stuff.

Now, I’m not complaining. I like getting out of town every so often (especially to check out other towns’ record stores), so that’s what I did last Sunday when my pals Blues Control were playing the Art Damage Lodge up in Cincy’s Northside neighborhood. Now I’ve been to the Art Damage Lodge a couple times already (most recently to see Six Organs of Admittance), and I gotta say, I wish we had a spot like that in L’ville.

I’ve wrote about being biased in the past, so I won’t really say a whole lot about Blues Control other than I really dig their new set — even though I think I need to take a little time to process it. It’s a little weird to see them play songs I don’t know since I was at their first show, but hey, that’s exciting. And I even made some really low-quality cellphone videos of stuff (yes, I know you can’t really see anything):

Someday I’ll own a proper video camera, but for the moment, my trusty Motorola Razr (it was close to free, give me a break) is the best thing I got. So there. Luckily for all of us, some kind soul upped Blues Control’s entire set at Philadelphia’s Big Jar Books from a while ago, and it’s a pretty fun thing to watch. Also, Blues Control’s first and long-out-of-print LP Puff has been reissued by Fusetron, so you should pick that up. And if you live in the following cities, go see ’em play:

Mar 13 2008 8:00P – Soho Lounge Austin, Texas
Mar 14 2008 3:00P – NiceHouse Austin, Texas
Mar 15 2008 1:00P – American Apparel Austin, Texas
Mar 15 2008 4:00P – Sound on Sound Records Austin, Texas
Mar 16 2008 8:00P – Fiesta Garage Monterrey, Nuevo León
Mar 21 2008 8:00P – House Louisville, Kentucky

Holy crap, they’re playing here! Tight!

So it was getting late and I had to bail and get back to Louisville (it’s about 100 miles to the Southwest) after Blues Control, and unfortunately I missed No Planes. Now I don’t know much about No Planes, but they feature Witt from Wild Gunmen, who I don’t know much about either, but they are from Cincinnati and Russ and Lea from Blues Control’s White Tapes label just put out a tape of theirs (which I snagged), so that’s a recommendation. Will let you know when I get a chance to play it (the only cassette player in the house is actually in the garage).

I did manage to catch Cincy wildman C. Spencer Yeh‘s new outfit Organs, which is a duo with fellow WKRP-er Ron Orovitz aka Iovae. Check out some crappy cellphone video of them, too:

That’s some harsh stuff, to be sure. But I liked it. Hopefully they’ll have some recordings available soon.

Also on the bill was New York’s Woods, who were great in a very shambolic Neil Young-y kinda way (and that’s a compliment), and some locals called Evolve, who were, well, I’ll just say they were unique. All in all, yet another good show at the Art Damage Lodge, and another reason to get outta town.

Leave a Reply

